Talking Objects

Talking Objects

Kurator:innenteam

Ein internationales Kurator*innenteam ist für die kuratorischen Konzepte der geplanten Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen in Deutschland und auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent verantwortlich. Das Gesamtkonzept wurde von Isabel Raabe und Mahret Ifeoma Kupka entwickelt.

© Marina Ackar

Mahret Ifeoma Kupka

Konzept & Kuratorin

Dr. Mahret Ifeoma Kupka ist Kunstwissenschaftlerin, freie Autorin und seit 2013 Kuratorin für Mode, Körper und Performatives am Museum Angewandte Kunst in Frankfurt am Main. In ihren Ausstellungen, Vorträgen, Texten und interdisziplinären Projekten befasst sie sich mit den Themen Zukunft, Erinnerungskultur, Repräsentation und der Dekolonisierung von Kunst- und Kulturpraxis in Europa und auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent. Sie ist Beiratsmitglied der Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland (ISD) e.V. und Sprecherin der Neuen Deutschen Museumsmacher*innen. Mahret Ifeoma Kupka ist Teil des Kurator*innenteams des TALKING OBJECTS LAB.

 

Isabel Raabe

Konzept & Kuratorin

Isabel Raabe ist Kuratorin und Projektentwicklerin und lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie studierte Zeitgenössischen Tanz und später Kulturmanagement und kuratierte zahlreiche interdisziplinäre internationale Kunst- und Kulturprojekte.  Sie interessiert sich für kuratorische und künstlerische Strategien, die westliche Perspektiven und Denktraditionen durchbrechen. Sie initiierte zuletzt das RomArchive – Digitales Archiv der Sinti und Roma, welches von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert wurde, 2019 online ging und den European Heritage Award 2019 und den Grimme Online Award 2020 gewann. Isabel Raabe hatte die Idee zu TALKING OBJECTS, das aus dem TALKING OBJECTS LAB und dem TALKING OBJECTS ARCHIVE, einem digitalen Archiv für dekoloniale Wissensproduktion, das 2024 online gehen soll, besteht.

 

Jim Chuchu

Kurator

Jim Chuchu ist Filmemacher, Musiker und bildender Künstler; er lebt und arbeitet in Nairobi, Kenia. Er ist Mitbegründer von The Nest Collective – einem multidisziplinären Künstler*innen-kollektiv mit Sitz in Nairobi. 2015 war Jim Chuchu Mitbegründer von HEVA, einem ostafrikanischen Fonds für kreative Unternehmen mit Sitz in Kenia, der in den Sektor der Kreativwirtschaft in der ostafrikanischen Region investiert. Seine Filme und künstlerischen Arbeiten wurden u.a. im MoMA, auf den Filmfestivals von Toronto, Berlin und Rotterdam, im Museum of Contemporary Photography, im Guggenheim Bilbao und im Vitra Design Museum gezeigt. Jim Chuchu ist Teil des Kurator*innenteams des TALKING OBJECTS LAB.

 

Dr. Njoki Ngumi

Kuratorin

Dr. Njoki Ngumi ist Autorin und feministische Denkerin. Sie war im privaten und öffentlichen Gesundheitssektor in Kenia tätig und ist heute Mitglied von The Nest Collective, sowie Koordinatorin für Lernen und Entwicklung für HEVA – Afrikas ersten Businessfonds für Kreativwirtschaft. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt er Arbeit mit Jugendlichen, Frauen und Minderheiten, öffentlicher Bildung und und sozioökonomische Gleichberechtigung. Mit The Nest war sie zuletzt am International Inventories Programme beteiligt. Njoki Ngumi ist Teil des Kurator*innenteams des TALKING OBJECTS LAB.

 

Chao Tayiana

Kuratorin

Chao Tayiana konzentriert sich in ihrer Arbeit auf die Anwendung von Digitaltechnologie bei der Erhaltung und Verbreitung des afrikanischen Kulturerbes. Sie ist Gründerin von African Digital Heritage (Nairobi) und Mitbegründerin der Initiative „Open Restitution Africa“, sowie des Museum of British Colonialism. Chao Tayiana hat einen MSc in International Heritage Visualization von der University of Glasgow/School of Art und arbeitete für die Science Museum Group als Softwareentwicklerin für digitale Museumsexponate. Sie wurde mit dem Google Anita Borg Stipendium für Frauen in der Technologie ausgezeichnet. Chao Tayiana ist Teil des Kurator*innenteams des TALKING OBJECTS LAB.

 

Kuratorin Filmprogramme für UNEXPECTED LESSONS

 

 

 

Nnenna Onuoha

Kuratorin Online Film Programm

Nnenna Onuoha ist eine visuelle Anthropologin und Filmemacherin, deren Praxis von ihrem ghanaisch-nigerianischen Erbe sowie von ihrem Hintergrund in Geschichte, Anthropologie und Kino geprägt ist. Ausgehend von der historischen Ausgrenzung und der fortwährenden Verharmlosung schwarzer Erfahrungen dokumentiert, archiviert und reimaginiert sie in ihrer Forschung und audiovisuellen Arbeit das Leben und Vermächtnis afrodeszenter Menschen in Westafrika, Europa und den USA. Ihre jüngste Ausstellung "Cartographies of Care" mit Edna Bonhomme bei alpha nova & galerie futura in Berlin (2020) untersuchte die Begegnungen Schwarzer Frauen und nicht-binärer Menschen in Berlin mit dem Gesundheitswesen, wobei sie sich nicht nur auf die Erfahrungen mit medizinischem Rassismus konzentrierte, sondern auch erforschte, wie sie durch gemeinschaftliche und indigene Praktiken Pflege und Heilung finden.
Nnenna Onuoha ist Kuratorin des Online-Filmprogramms für UNEXPECTED LESSONS.

Kuratorinnenteam UNEXPECTED LESSONS in Nairobi

 

 

 

Rosie Olang ist Autorin und bildende Künstlerin und lebt in Nairobi, Kenia. Ihr aktuelles künstlerisches Interesse gilt Zines, Kunstbüchern und unkonventionellen Buchstrukturen als eine Möglichkeit, das Publizieren neu zu denken und zu erforschen. Sie untersucht, welche neuen Formen möglich sind, wenn man Poesie, Literatur und bildender Kunst miteinander verwebt. Sie hat für das National Museum of Women in the Arts, Women's Studio Workshop, Enkare Review und A LongHouse geschrieben und arbeitet als Programmmanagerin am Nairobi Contemporary Art Institute.

 

 

 

Kahira Ngige

Kahira Ngige ist Urbanist und interessiert sich dafür, wie Design die kulturelle Produktion beeinflusst und Städte formt. Seine Artikel sind im Avery Journal der Columbia University, in der New York Review of Architecture, in UD:ID der Graduate School of Design der Harvard University und in Publikationen des Goethe-Instituts erschienen. Darüber hinaus wurden Kahiras Fotografien in der Kirkland Gallery in Cambridge, MA, ausgestellt. Kahira hat einen Master-Abschluss in Stadtplanung von der Harvard University und lebt und arbeitet in Nairobi, Kenia.

 

Projektkoordination

Celina Baljeet Basra

Celina Baljeet Basra ist Kunsthistorikerin, Autorin und Kuratorin und lebt in Berlin. Sie war unter anderem Kuratorin des Berliner Kunstraums Galerie im Turm, Assistenzkuratorin im Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien und hat im Katalog- und Vermittlungsteam der 10. Berlin Biennale gearbeitet. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte im globalen Kontext (M.A.) und arbeitete in einem Forschungsprojekt über die wechselseitigen Dynamiken von Display und Situation (Freie Universität Berlin). Celina ist Teil des kuratorischen Kollektivs The Department of Love.

Talking Objects

Talking Objects

Curational Team

An international team of curators is responsible for the curatorial concepts of the planned events and exhibitions in Germany and on the African continent. The overall concept was developed by Isabel Raabe and Mahret Ifeoma Kupka.

© Marina Ackar

Mahret Ifeoma Kupka

Concept & Curator

Dr. Mahret Ifeoma Kupka is an art scholar, freelance writer and, since 2013, Curator of Fashion, Body and Performance at the Museum Angewandte Kunst in Frankfurt am Main. In her exhibitions, lectures, texts, and interdisciplinary projects, she addresses the issues of the future, memory culture, representation, and the decolonization of art and cultural practices in Europe and on the African continent. She is a member of the advisory board of the Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland e.V. and spokesperson for the Neue Deutsche Museumsmacher*innen.

Isabel Raabe

Concept & Curator

Isabel Raabe is a curator and project developer from Berlin. She studied Contemporary Dance and later cultural management and curated numerous interdisciplinary international art and cultural projects. She is interested in curatorial and artistic strategies that deconstruct Western perspectives and traditions of thought. She recently initiated RomArchive - Digital Archive of the Roma, funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, which won the European Heritage Award 2019 and the Grimme Online Award 2020. Isabel Raabe initiated the project TALKING OBJECTS which consists of the TALKING OBJECTS LAB and the TALKING OBJECTS ARCHIVE, a digital archive for decolonial knowledge production which is supposed to be launched in 2024.

Jim Chuchu

Curator

Jim Chuchu is a filmmaker, musician and visual artist living and working in Nairobi, Kenya. He is the co-founder of The Nest Collective – a multidisciplinary artist collective based in Nairobi. In 2015, Jim Chuchu co-founded HEVA, an East African creative enterprise fund based in Kenya that invests in the creative industries sector in the East African region. His films and artworks have been shown at MoMA, the Toronto, Berlin and Rotterdam film festivals, the Museum of Contemporary Photography, the Guggenheim Bilbao and the Vitra Design Museum, among others. Jim Chuchu is part of the curatorial team of the TALKING OBJECTS LAB.

Dr. Njoki Ngumi

Curator

Dr. Njoki Ngumi is an author and feminist thinker based in Nairobi. She has worked in the private and public health sectors in Kenya and is now a member of The Nest Collective, as well as the Learning and Development Coordinator for HEVA – Africa's first business fund for creative industries. She is particularly interested in working with youth, women and minorities, public education and socio-economic equality. With The Nest Collective, she was most recently involved in the International Inventories Program. Njoki Ngumi is part of the curatorial team of the TALKING OBJECTS LAB.

Chao Tayiana

Curator

Chao Tayiana's work focuses on the application of digital technology to the preservation and dissemination of African cultural heritage. She is the founder of African Digital Heritage (Nairobi) and co-founder of the Open Restitution Africa initiative, as well as the Museum of British Colonialism. Chao Tayiana holds an MSc in International Heritage Visualization from the University of Glasgow/School of Art and worked for the Science Museum Group as a software developer for digital museum exhibits. She was awarded the Google Anita Borg Scholarship for Women in Technology. Chao Tayiana is part of the curatorial team of the TALKING OBJECTS LAB.

Curator Film Programme at UNEXPECTED LESSONS

 

 

Nnenna Onuoha

Curator Online Film Program

Nnenna Onuoha is a visual anthropologist and filmmaker whose practice is informed by her Ghanaian-Nigerian heritage as well as her background in history, anthropology, and cinema. Drawing on historical exclusion and the ongoing trivialization of black experience, her research and audiovisual work documents, archives, and reimagines the lives and legacies of Afrodescendant people in West Africa, Europe, and the United States. Her recent exhibition "Cartographies of Care" with Edna Bonhomme at alpha nova & galerie futura in Berlin (2020) explored Black women's and non-binary people's encounters with health care in Berlin, focusing not only on their experiences with medical racism, but also exploring how they find care and healing through community and indigenous practices.

Nnenna Onuoha is the curator of the online film program for UNEXPECTED LESSONS.

Curatorial Team UNEXPECTED LESSONS in Nairobi

 

 

Rosie Olang

Rosie Olang is an arts writer, and visual artist based in Nairobi, Kenya. Her current artistic interests explore zines, artist's books and other unconventional book structures as a way to reimagine publishing and explore what new forms are possible when working with poetry, literature and visual arts in tandem. She has written for the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Women's Studio Workshop, Enkare Review and A LongHouse  and works as the programs manager at the Nairobi Contemporary Art Institute.

 

Kahira Ngige

Kahira Ngige is an urbanist interested in the way design influences cultural production and shapes cities. His writing has appeared in Columbia University's Avery Journal, the New York Review of Architecture, Harvard's Graduate School of Design's UD:ID and the Goethe Institute. In addition, Kahira’s photography work has been exhibited at the Kirkland Gallery in Cambridge, MA. Kahira holds a master’s in urban planning from Harvard University and lives and works in Nairobi, Kenya.

Project Coordinator

Celina Baljeet Basra

Celina Baljeet Basra is an art historian, writer and curator based in Berlin. She has been Program Coordinator at Times Art Center Berlin, Curator of the Berlin art space Galerie im Turm, Assistant Curator at Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien, and has worked in the catalogue and mediation team of the 10th Berlin Biennale, amongst others. She graduated in Art History in a Global Context and contributed to a research project on the Interrelated Dynamics of Display and Situation within Aesthetic Reflection (Free University Berlin). Celina is part of the curatorial collective The Department of Love.