UNEXPECTED LESSONS #2 – Decolonizing Nature

TALKING OBJECTS LAB @Goethe Morph* Iceland

Die zweitägige performative Konferenz UNEXPECTED LESSONS #2 findet im Rahmen des Festivals Goethe Morph* Iceland am 13. & 14. September 2022 im Nordic House in Reykjavik statt.

 

“We must all decolonize our minds in Western culture to be able to think differently about nature, about the destruction humans cause.”


bell hooks (Belonging: A Culture of Place, 2008)

 

 

Wie seine Vorgängerveranstaltungen in Berlin und Nairobi widmet sich auch UNEXPECTED LESSONS #2 dem Thema Dekolonisierung. Diesmal legen wir den Fokus auf die Natur, aus verschiedenen Perspektiven. Die UNEXPECTED LESSONS sind organisch. Als Teil des TALKING OBJECTS LAB bieten sie Ausgangs- und Zwischenpunkte, die thematisch mit Think Tanks in Dakar, Nairobi und Frankfurt (2022) verwoben sind.

Die außergewöhnliche Natur Islands, das geologisch hochinteressante Gebiet, das als Archiv der Erdgeschichte erlebt werden kann, wird in Reykjavik zum "anderen Objekt", basierend auf der Idee eines erweiterten Objektbegriffs. Was macht die Natur zum "Anderen"? Welche Rolle spielt dabei die Entkopplung von Natur und Kultur? Ist die Dichotomie Kultur/Natur überhaupt haltbar? Und wie können wir unseren Blick auf die Welt entkolonialisieren?

UNEXPECTED LESSONS #2 geht ein Think Tank im Juli 2022 in Nairobi voraus. Die Veranstaltung befasst sich mit Saatgutarchiven und ihren kolonialen Verstrickungen, mit der Kolonisierung von Land, mit verlorenem indigenen Wissen über Pflanzen und Pflanzung sowie mit der Natur als Archiv der Erinnerung.

 

Teilnehmer*innen: Ayesha Keshani, Harriet Ng’ok, Jumana Manna, Neo Musangi, i.a. 

Kuratorisches Team: Mahret Ifeoma Kupka (Frankfurt, Deutschland), Njoki Ngumi, The Nest Collective (Nairobi, Kenia), Chao Tayiana Maina, African Digital Heritage (Nairobi, Kenia), Isabel Raabe (Berlin, Deutschland)

Jumana Manna, Wild Seeds (2018)
Jumana Manna, Wild Seeds (2018)
Jumana Manna, Wild Seeds (2018)

UNEXPECTED LESSONS #2 – Decolonizing Nature

TALKING OBJECTS LAB @Goethe Morph* Iceland

The three-day performative conference UNEXPECTED LESSONS #2 will take place as part of the festival Goethe Morph* Iceland in Reykjavik on September 13th -15th, 2022.

 

“We must all decolonize our minds in Western culture to be able to think differently about nature, about the destruction humans cause.”


bell hooks (Belonging: A Culture of Place, 2008)

 

 

Just like its predecessor event in Berlin and Nairobi, UNEXPECTED LESSONS #2 is dedicated to the theme of decolonization. This time we put a focus on nature, from different perspectives. The UNEXPECTED LESSONS are organic. As part of the TALKING OBJECTS LAB, they provide starting points and intermediate points, interweaving thematically with think tanks in Dakar, Nairobi and Frankfurt (2022).

The extraordinary nature of Iceland, the geologically highly interesting area that can be experienced as an archive of the earth's history, becomes the “other object” in Reykjavik, based on the idea of an expanded concept of an “object”. What makes nature the other? What role does the decoupling of nature and culture play in this? Is the culture/nature dichotomy tenable at all? And how can we decolonize our view of the world and think nature differently?

UNEXPECTED LESSONS #2 is preceded by a think tank in July 2022 in Nairobi. The event addresses seed archives and their colonial entanglements, colonization of land, lost indigenous knowledge on plants and medical botanicals, nature as an archive of memory and the philosophy of nature.

 

Participanting artists and experts:
Amongst others Ayesha Keshani, Chef Kabui, Harriet Ng’ok, Neo Musangi, Artist Collective Lucky 3, h.n. lyonga, Uriel Orlow, Jumana Manna

Curatorial Team:
Mahret Ifeoma Kupka (Frankfurt, Germany), Njoki Ngumi, The Nest Collective (Nairobi, Kenya), Chao Tayiana Maina, African Digital Heritage (Nairobi, Kenya), Isabel Raabe (Berlin, Germany)

any)

Jumana Manna, Wild Seeds (2018)