LA PALABRE #6 – LISTENING TO OBJECTS

14.12.2023
Decolonizing Knowledge

14. Dezember, 18:00 h @Vierte Welt, Kottbusser Tor, Berlin. Für die Reihe LA PALABRE lädt TALKING OBJECTS LAB von Juli bis Dezember 2023 in Berlin ansässige Forscher*innen, Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen ein, um die Themen zu diskutieren, an denen wir in den letzten zwei Jahren im Rahmen von TALKING OBJECTS, einem künstlerischen Forschungsprojekt zur Dekolonisierung von Wissen, gearbeitet haben. In einer kleinen La Palabre-Gruppe von 40 Personen treffen wir uns und teilen Snacks und Geschichten

Im TALKING OBJECTS LAB geht es auch darum, Objekte zum Sprechen zu bringen und ihnen zuzuhören––dem Zitat des senegalesischen Schriftstellers Ismael Dio folgend “Ecoute plus souvent les choses que les êtres!” (Höre öfter auf die Dinge als auf die Menschen). 

Welches polyphone Wissen liegt in Objekten? Wie können wir Objekte neu betrachten, ihnen zuhören und sie ins Erzählen bringen? Und ist vor diesem Hintergrund der Begriff “Objekt” überhaupt tragbar? In den Jahren 2021 und 2023 luden wir Künstler*innen zu Residencies am Musée Théodore Monod in Dakar ein, um dort zu Objekten aus der Sammlung des Museums zu arbeiteten. Nach dem Screening von Interviews mit den Künstlern Viyé Diba und Ibrahima Thiam, werden Nikita Dhawan und Maria do Mar Castro Varelas darüber sprechen, was "Listening to Objects" für sie bedeutet. Wir diskutieren darüber, wie wichtig die Neu-Betrachtung von Objekten für den Prozess der Dekolonisierung ist und was der Umgang von westlichen Museen mit Objekten über Europa erzählt.

Für die künstlerischen Interventionen des Abends laden wir Melody Ledwon mit einer Yoga-Intervention ein, sowie den Autor und Performer Fogha MC, mit einem Text gelesen von Lamin Leroy. Kulinarische Kuration und Input sind an diesem Abend von Ma-Makan. LA PALABRE #6 wird moderiert von Miriam Camara.

 

LA PALABRE wird kuratiert von Isabel Raabe und Celina Baljeet Basra.

Unterstützt durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

LA PALABRE #6 — Screening a lecture by Ibrahima Thiam
La Palabre #6 — Talking Objects Kuratorin Isabel Raabe präsentiert die beiden Artist Residency von Viyé Diba und Ibrahima Thiam.
La Palabre #6 - María do Mar Castro Varela
La Palabre #6 — Melody Ledwon meditiert mit dem Publikum
La Palabre #6 — Lamin Leroy Gibba liest Fogha MC Cornelius Refems Text.
La Palabre #6 - Jeanne Nzakizabandi, Isabel Raabe, Mahret Ifemoa Kupka, Celina Basra und Jasmin Awale.

LA PALABRE #6 – LISTENING TO OBJECTS

14.12.2023
Decolonizing Knowledge

14. December, 18.00 h @Vierte Welt, Kottbusser Tor, Berin. For the LA PALABRE series, from July-December 2023, we invite Berlin-based researchers*, artists*, and activists to discuss the issues we have been working on over the past two years as part of TALKING OBJECTS, an artistic research project on decolonizing knowledge. In a small La Palabre group of 40 people, we meet and share snacks and stories.

For the LA PALABRE series, TALKING OBJECTS LAB invites Berlin-based researchers, artists, and activists from July to December 2023 to discuss the topics we have been working on over the past two years as part of TALKING OBJECTS, an artistic research project on the decolonization of knowledge. In a small La Palabre group of 40 people, we meet and share snacks and stories.

 

The TALKING OBJECTS LAB is also about making objects talk and listening to them––following the quote from the Senegalese writer Ismael Dio “Ecoute plus souvent les choses que les êtres!” (Listen more often to things than to people). 

What polyphonic knowledge lies in objects? How can we look at objects in a new way, listen to them, and make them tell stories? And is the term “object” even viable against this backdrop? In 2021 and 2023, we invited artists to take up residencies at the Musée Théodore Monod in Dakar to work with objects from the museum's collection. After screening interviews with the artists Viyé Diba and Ibrahima Thiam, Nikita Dhawan and Maria do Mar Castro Varelas will discuss how important the re-examination of objects is for the process of decolonization and what the handling of objects by Western museums tells us about Europe.

For the artistic interventions of the evening we invite Melody Ledwon with a yoga intervention, as well as the author and performer Fogha MC, with a text read by Lamin Leroy. Culinary curation and input on this evening are by Ma-Makan. LA PALABRE #6 will be moderated by Miriam Camara.

 

LA PALABRE is curated by Isabel Raabe and Celina Baljeet Basra.

Supported by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

LA PALABRE #6 - Screening a lecture by Ibrahima Thiam
La Palabre #6 — Talking Object curator Isabel Raabe presenting the artist residency of Viyé Diba and Ibrahima Thiam.
La Palabre #6 - María do Mar Castro Varela
La Palabre #6 - Melody Ledwon meditates with the audience
La Palabre #6 - Lamin Leroy Gibba reading Fogha MC Cornelius Refems text.
La Palabre #6 - Jeanne Nzakizabandi, Isabel Raabe, Mahret Ifemoa Kupka, Celina Basra and Jasmin Awale.